Skip to main content

Clifford Chance

Clifford Chance
News and awards

News and awards

Clifford Chance appoints 24 new partners

25 April 2017

Clifford Chance appoints 24 new partners

Leading international law firm, Clifford Chance has today announced the promotion of 24 lawyers to its partnership.

The new partners are drawn from all of the firm's market-leading practices and from across all regions. The promotions demonstrate Clifford Chance's continued investment in areas valued highly by its client base of leading organisations globally. As well as adding further capability in practices such as antitrust, M&A, Private Equity, project, acquisition and leveraged finance, regulatory and arbitration, the new partners have expertise across a broad range of sectors and in areas of increasing importance to clients such as cyber security, fintech and alternative financing.

Clifford Chance Managing Partner, Matthew Layton commented, "Our new partners are characterised by their commitment to excellent service, to supporting the firm in pursuing our collective goals, and to the development of their teams. These partners are already widely recognised by clients and the market for the quality of their insight and judgment, and respected by colleagues for their substantial contributions to the life of the firm. I am delighted to welcome them to the partnership and look forward to working alongside them as their careers go from strength to strength."

The promotions will take effect from 1 May 2017. The newly promoted partners are:

Capital Markets

David Tsai – Hong Kong


Samir Azzouzi – Madrid
Marcin Bartnicki – Warsaw
James Bole – London
Jonathan Kewley - London
Frederik Mühl – Frankfurt
Wojciech Polz – Warsaw
Gunnar Sachs – Düsseldorf
Natsuko Sugihara – Tokyo
Anastasios Tomtsis – Brussels


Graham Brewer – Dubai
Timothy Cleary – London
Folko de Vries – Amsterdam
Christof Häfner – Frankfurt
Owen Lysak – London
Kristine Manoukian – New York
Lena Ng – Singapore
David Robson – London
Terry Yang – Hong Kong

Litigation & Dispute Resolution

Sam Luttrell – Perth
Josep Montefusco – Barcelona
Katrin Schallenberg – Paris

Real Estate

Matt Taylor – London

Tax, Pensions & Employment

Olaf Mertgen – Frankfurt